Should I go back to University?

www.moyanbrenn.com
http://www.moyanbrenn.com

In my final year of University studying Journalism and Media, I decided to take a part time access course, the course I chose was an access to health course which would enable me to study Nursing. Because I was only going to be in Stoke for one more year I had to take the intensive route of the course which meant I was taking a 2 year course in 1 year.

At the time I was going through a big life change where I realised I wanted to look into the health care profession a little more. I’d always been afraid but I decided that by taking the course it could open many doors of possibilities to me when I graduate. I planned on going back to University to study Nursing.

Then the time came when I successfully completed my access course with great grades, unfortunately my working 2 jobs part time, studying at University full time and going to College part time, meant that my degree suffered and I graduated with a surprising 2:2, a far reach from my expected 2:1 minimum… Despite this I still believed that my path was going to go down the health care route.

After graduation, my partner and I made the big move to Kent, and I decided I wanted to take a year out from studying and instead work and earn some money.

So that’s what I did. I applied to UCAS and found myself getting into University to study Adult Nursing.

But if truth be told, I rushed myself and didn’t think too clearly about what University I wanted to go to. Not just that but I was so busy with my new job that I didn’t have much time to think about other things except work!

When it was the final week to make a decision about going to University, I got cold feet. I didn’t apply to any Universities that would enable me to live in our home and if I went it would take me away from my partner.

I battled with the decision for so long and I just couldn’t find the signs I was looking for.

In the end I decided that I wouldn’t go… That maybe I could see how my career went and then if I still wanted to go next year then I could re-apply again.

But now is the time to re-apply and I am once again unable to make a decision. Because far from where I was last year, I am now in a place where yes I could go back to University next year, maybe apply to ones nearby and finally study what I’ve been waiting to study for so long, but I’ve gotten into a flow of going to work, earning money, and being a home maker…

Am I ready to go back to Uni again? Should I put off following a career path and climbing the career ladder?

So many questions to consider, so many things to think about before making a decision…

The thing is it’s not only me I’ve got to think about, I spent 3 years at University, finding myself and growing. Going back would give me a second chance at reaching my 2:1 or even 1st degree! But then it also means 3 years further from being able to settle down and start a family, 3 years further from climbing up the career ladder…

There’s a lot of pros and a lot of cons, hopefully taking some time to really evaluate my life and where I want my future to go will give me the light to make the right decision, I also hope talking to other people who have been stuck in this situation will give me some guidance.

Still it would be great to find some answers now, so I don’t spend a whole year wondering again…

Either way I know wherever my path takes me, I will have a wonderful family, great friends and my fantastic partner who will be able to join me in my journey, whatever decision I make will be for the best and will lead me to a great adventure.

Do something to make your parents proud today, your kids proud someday and you proud everyday!

Peace and Love,
Jessy x

3 thoughts on “Should I go back to University?

    1. Thank you, that’s incredibly sweet. You’re right life is short, and it’s definitely worth considering, I feel very lucky to even have the opportunity. I’m sorry to hear about your situation, but things will look up! I’m sure there are others in a similar situation to you, you just have to find them! Thank you for sharing a link to your blog, I would love to hear about your adventures! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

