Offending People With My Writing

Ricky-Gervais-quote2

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2eMymVgJzH0

Something I learnt a long time ago is, you can never please everyone with anything that you do. Whatever you do in this life, no matter how nice you are, at some point you are going to upset someone.

You’ve got to understand that no matter what your intention is, no matter how many fans, followers and supporters you have, there will still be a handful of people who are going to disagree with you.

You have to accept that.

It’s okay to upset people.

Writing has always been my way of expressing myself, whether it be fiction or non-fiction, I’ve always found it easier to say things through my writing, because you can articulate things better, and it’s almost safer than saying things out loud.

Something that put me off Journalism was the politics of it. Sometimes you’ll have to lie to be able to sell your words. Me? I prefer to share my stories in my truth. I say my truth because I see things one way and it wouldn’t be fair to see that the way I see it is the complete truth because I understand that people often interpret things in different ways.

I like writing for my blog because there is no pressure and I only have to write my opinion. I share my stories through my eyes. I know not all my stories will make people happy, I know people will have their own opinion over mine but that’s okay, if they want to share that with me, then that’s fine too, it’s a ‘free world’ and you are ‘free’ to have an opinion.

When I started my blog, I knew that not everyone would agree with the things that I would say, but I never intended to upset anyone. If anything, I wanted to provoke people into thinking, if I even had the power of that.

Something I discovered recently was that by telling my stories, I would upset some people who were close to me, personally but also close in relation.

I never thought I would have to or be made to feel like I had to apologise for simply writing my truth.

After being confronted for ‘misunderstanding’ a situation and ‘misreading’ a person, and being told I was wrong for coming to the conclusion I did, really knocked me through a loop. In fact, it actually stopped me from writing for a while because I started to question my integrity as a blogger…(but secretly what I desperately wanted to be was a story teller).

I questioned whether my outlet, my hobby, my blog was actually doing more harm than good.

I questioned whether I was wrong about everything, and whether I was even allowed to be sharing my stories so openly on the Internet like this.

That’s when it occurred to me, it’s my stories. They’re my stories, my words, and it’s because of that, that I am entitled to share them.

How dare anyone make me feel like I have no right to my own memories or opinions when they had so boldly given me their opinion?

I had no malicious intent, and yet I was made to feel like such an evil person.

From this lesson, I have learnt that it’s not easy to make people happy but it’s easy to tell the truth. I think if you enjoy writing, you enjoy sharing your stories or opinions and you’re not doing that by harming anyone then it shouldn’t be a problem.

If you’re going to write something then be brave enough to accept criticism but also be strong enough to stand by your convictions.

The world is a huge place and you’re bound to face some set backs in life, but the one thing you should never do is give up on something that gives you so much happiness and motivation.

Something I learn everyday is that life is tough and there are going to be bad days, instead of always letting the negativity get me down, instead I choose to share those lessons and those moments with others in hopes that they can impart some kind of wisdom or inspiration. I hope to help others even if it’s just sharing stories. I hope to entertain people with my ‘it could only happen to me’ moments that other people may be able to relate to. But most of all, I hope to provide a safe place for people to come to, to be able to know that whatever they are going through they are not alone, and whilst I am around, I want to continue to provide hope to those who face the difficulties and trials of everyday life. It’s big hopes and dreams but my blog has given me this energy and voice that I never thought I could have.

I think if I let those few people who are ignorant and narrow minded, silence me, then I would never be able to share my heart, soul and mind with anyone, not even those I love.

I know that I will continue to offend, continue to provoke, continue to anger those few who disagree with me, I know that people will judge, misunderstand, misread and mislabel me with my own words. But even out of those who are against me, are given a new way of thinking, even if I give them food for thought, or get them questioning everything they knew before, even if it’s just one person, I am able to give hope to, one who I make laugh, even one who I make happy, then it’s all worth it to me.

With every blog post, I learn something new, with every article I write, I find my voice get stronger, little by little, I find my confidence grow, and I am thankful that I am able to write this and share this new wave of enthusiasm for proving those naysayers wrong!

If your heart if full of love, if your soul is pure and your words are true then don’t let anyone tell you, you can’t, only those with negativity are held back by fear, don’t let them win, because your dreams are bigger than the word NO!

Don’t forget…

Do something to make your parents proud today, your kids proud someday, and you proud everyday!

Peace and Love,

Jessy x

Leave a Reply

