Sometimes it’s a bad day and sometimes there’s no reason for it

a-bad-day-only-last-24-hours-20130507863

If you’re anything like me you’ll have good days and bad days and no matter what is happening, you still struggle to take much at face value. In fact a lot of the times you insist in evaluating everything to try and figure out why. Confused? Well it’s like you have to question everything to figure out why things are the way they are instead of just accepting that things are just the way they are because, they are.

Sometimes I have bad days and I want to write everything down so I can come to a conclusion as to why it’s a bad day.

The other day I was watching one of my favourite TV shows. Despite the series ending several years ago, I had never managed to get passed season 4. I know what you’re thinking, “But Jessy if you love the show so much then surely you would have binge watched the show?” well I had on many occasions binge watched it, but would only get to season 4 before stopping. I’d pretty much do this a couple of times a month and would forget why I had stopped previously. Then last week I did it again.

I started to feel uncomfortable watching it, even though it made me laugh, it also made me feel things that I didn’t really feel happy experiencing again. I told my sister this and together we evaluated the content of the episodes that had started to make me feel uncomfortable.

I noticed it was always one particular episode that I would call my ‘trigger’ for a few days I felt so unhappy even if I hadn’t continued to watch. I felt sad and that sadness rolled from one day to another.

The thing was I was so fixated on trying to figure out what was wrong that I forgot to think about what would make me feel better.

I should have just accepted that sometimes we’re going to experience bad days and there won’t be a good reason for it other than because we’re human and we’re capable of feeling intricate wide range of emotions.

If there’s anything I have learned from years of experiencing bad days, it’s that the sadness I feel is temporary and will pass; sometimes I just have to ride it out and accept that some things just are.

Whilst I wasted my time coming up with a logical reason why I was so badly affected by a fictional story, instead I probably would have been much more successful in passing this moment by sitting down, getting my heavily organized sad music playlist on Youtube and having a good old cry. Because everyone needs that, people need that time and opportunity to just feel.

Everything in life is so hectic and can get crazy, people make the time to have fun, to be stressed, to be calm and have peace but no one seems to make time to be sad.

Maybe that’s why the way the world looks at depression is so jaded? Maybe if people took the time to allow themselves to accept their sadness then they wouldn’t have to push it aside and pretend it’s not there.

I once heard that if you make a child’s sadness known, if you talk to the child and accept that they are sad, and then they will calm down and talk like a reasonable person. But why is that something we only do for children? I feel like children can at times be more mature than adults and that is mainly because we excuse and allow them to show their emotions and true intentions without making them apologise for it. As adults we need to have the same kind of validation. In fact our emotions don’t stop needing to be seen and heard just because we’re of legal age to drink and vote.

My sadness needs to be felt by me just as much as I need to be happy.

I guess this is what they mean by needing a healthy balance right?

Sometimes it’s a bad day for no reason other than it just is.

And sometimes I need to accept that at face value.

Another babbling rant from me, I promise I’m not drunk I’m just accepting that today is a bad day, but I’m sure tomorrow I’ll have another chance at having a better day.

Do something to make your parents proud today, your kids proud someday, and you proud everyday!

Peace and Love,

Jessy x

Leave a Reply

