WHY WEDNESDAYS: Why my Mum is my Hero

305411_10150301105079125_9563256_n

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FTeG_I_Hu4Q

The first 6 years of my life it was just my Mum and older sister. We were always surrounded by my Mum’s family so it wasn’t like we were missing a house full of people. For those years my Mum played the role of mother and father because my Dad was living/working abroad.

She did typical Mum things like helping my sister and I with our homework, she would take us to buy clothes and cook us dinner, but she also did the sorts of things that is typical of what Dad figures do. She was basically a single Mum from the day that she gave birth to my older sister until I was 6 years old and our family finally came together.

Despite the difficulty that can come with raising two little girls without your partner, my Mum never complained. She gave us enough love as if we had two parents, she doted on us and provided a safe and happy home for us to thrive and grow.

I first realised my Mum was my hero when we moved to the UK. My Mum has always been a family person and loved her family so much, but still, she gave up being close and surrounded by them in order to give us the opportunity to have our father in our lives. I remember seeing how sad she was when we left, I can’t imagine the kind of love she had for us to give up such a big part of her life, it’s something I don’t think I’ll ever be able to repay. The sacrifice of your home, your family to give your new family a chance to be happy is something that must have conflicted her so much.

Sitting here thinking about it makes me sad, because I don’t know if I’d be able to do the same thing. I mean, I’m living only a few hours from my family and already it can get too much and most days all I want to do is run home to my Mum.

My Mum has lived a very difficult life, she’s smart, funny and very loving but the hands she has been dealt has not always allowed her to fully grow as the person she dreamed of being.

Once upon a time she was on the honours list at school, she was the pride and joy of her parents, she was hard working and despite this, her situation didn’t enable her to be able to go to school and get the kind of education that I will admittedly take for granted. She dreamed of being a nurse and being able to help others, to make a difference in this world.

Even if the dream of being a nurse didn’t happen, my Mum found an equally fulfilling and worthy job, she’s now a Health Care Assistant, a damn good one too!

She’s selfless and kind and I’m not entirely sure what warrants the title of Hero but I believe my Mum deserves to know just how much of a Hero she is.

She works hard and helps look after people who may not necessarily have someone who can look after them, she doesn’t complain if she has to work from 7:00am until 10:00pm, she doesn’t quit when things get tough, she just keeps powering through keeping the love she has for her family as her motivation to keep going.

My Mum was the kind of person who would work long shifts but always ensure we had breakfast, lunch and dinner on the table, even if it meant waking up at a crazy time in the morning and cooking. She would always have time to talk about how our day went, and if we needed her she would be there.

I know that this is something most parents would do for their children but I like to think that my Mother is extra special. She taught me how to have good values, how to appreciate life, how to be grateful and resilient no matter what life throws at you.

My Mum is my hero because she has saved me from a lot of things over the years, she gave up her life in order to create a future for my sisters and I. She allowed us to have our own hopes and dreams even if she hasn’t gotten to live our all of hers yet. She created a safe haven for us to grow and figure things out for ourselves. She never pushed her beliefs on my sisters and I, she let us be our own selves without fear of persecution. She supported us through the highs and lows, she gave me the opportunity to live the kind of life that she was not able to have and never once expected or asked for a thank you, she was a Mum, she was a best friend, she was a mentor and never did she tire of her role, she did the best she could with what she had and for that I will be forever thankful.

I am grateful for having such a strong role model to look up to and I hope the life I am creating for myself will make her proud. Someday I hope her sacrifices, blood, sweat, tears will be for something, I hope someday my Mum will see just how thankful I am that I was blessed to have her as my Mother and my very best friend.

Nowadays we’re all so busy being busy that we forget how much a simple thank you means to a person. I have been guilty of trying to grow up too fast, being swamped with everything else that I forget to just call my Mum and ask her how her day is going, this is so bad because growing up she never once forgot to ask me how I was or if I needed help with anything.

It takes a few seconds to dial your loved one number and remind them how much you love them, that small act of love goes a long way, particularly if that person is having a difficult day, it’s always nice to hear that someone loves you.

So if you’re reading this blog post, and you’re reminded of someone you haven’t spoken to in a while, maybe use this excuse to give them a call and tell them how nice it is to hear their voice.

Do something to make your parents proud today, your kids proud someday but most importantly, you proud every day!

Peace and Love

Jessy x

Leave a Reply

