FLASHBACK FRIDAY: The first time I experienced brain freeze

slurpee-brainfreeze-girl-260-38567

I feel like I missed out on quite a bit as a kid, I never learned to ride a bike, I never broke a bone, I’ve never been to Disneyland, but out of all the things I am sad I missed out on, not experiencing brain freeze is probably right on the top of my list.

You’d have rather had brain freeze than go to Disneyland? You’re probably asking, yes, and here is the reason why.

Brain freeze is probably like riding a bike (yes another thing I never got to experience) once you’ve experienced it you know what to expect. It’s like once you’ve had one, the next time you have it again you won’t be so surprised.

I want to tell you about the first time I experienced brain freeze. It was the summer of 2016 (yes that’s this year, I’m 24 years old and I’ve only just experienced my first ever brain freeze), it was a particularly hot afternoon and my partner and I were cruising through the bad streets of New Addington when we passed by a store with a big sign reading ‘Mango Slushies’. Something you need to understand is my partner and I are suckers for anything Mango flavoured, as in, we go to cost-co and spend too much money because we like our end of shopping treat, the Mango smoothies they sell in the café. We live for Mango anything, but me, I’m partial to slushies, for me, it’s an any weather kind of treat, I love iced drinks even more so when you can actually drink the ice.

We decided to stop off and buy ourselves some Mango slushies, the excitement I had was excrutiating. I was also particularly thirsty so the ice cold goodness of my drink was going to be glorious.

When we finally got into the car, Scott started to drive off, I couldn’t wait another minute longer, so I picked up my drink, felt just how cold it was on my finger tips, took the straw and took a big gulp, long enough that I actually stopped breathing and was just inhaling the whole cup. The coldness soothed my dry mouth and as it went down my throat I felt a happy tingle dance around my finger tips. I giggled at how excited I was, the sweet taste and cold ice made me so happy that I couldn’t help but smile.

This moment of elation was cut short when a few seconds later I felt the world fall apart. My fingers no longer felt that sensation of tingling and instead felt like they were numb but occasionally had pangs of pain run through my nerves.

My head started to pound and I felt like I was suspended in thin air. I couldn’t breathe, my vision got foggy and I felt disorientated, I felt like my heart was trying so hard to pump blood around my body but it was struggling under a heavy weight on my chest. For some reason I suddenly got very aware of a loud voice in my head telling me I was going to die. My vision still impaired I tried to push air out from my mouth but for some reason I couldn’t get anything out. Despite the ringing in my ears I could hear this low hum, then I heard myself let out this groan. After the groan I finally managed to push out air that was blocking my mouth (weird? Yeah that is the only way I can explain what was happening to me) and I screamed out loud. I startled Scott with my screaming.

“Scott stop the car, stop the car now!”

I shouted at him signaling for him to pull the car over. In shock and confusion Scott parked the car, he looked at me afraid, he didn’t really understand what was happening.

“Scott I’m having a heart attack, I think I’m dying.”

I began to cry, he looked at me with a bemused look on his face, and he began to laugh. Through my tears, I began to breathe really deeply, I couldn’t understand what he thought was so funny.

“I’m serious, I’m dying, I don’t know what’s wrong, and I’ve gone blind.”

I wailed trying to make sure he understood why I was so hysterical, I was going to die, the love of his life was going to perish from the heart attack I was so convinced I was having, and still he continued to laugh.

After a few minutes, my vision started to clear, the pounding in my head started to subside and the pressure on my chest began to lift. I sat still afraid my heart attack would start again. Once I calmed down, Scott held my hand; I looked at him as he continued to laugh. Still I couldn’t understand what he found so funny and why he was not being sympathetic to my whole ordeal.

“You understand what just happened right?” Scott asked me in between his gasps of laughter.

“I almost died from my heart attack.” I mumbled tearfully trying hard not to make any sudden movements.

Scott shook his head, “no, you just had brain freeze! Have you never had one before?”

I shook my head and tried to comprehend how the pain and agony I was in not but a few seconds ago could have been something so simple as a brain freeze, but then my excitement crept up to me again when I realized, ‘Hah, I’ve had my first brain freeze, now I know what to expect next time.’

Feeling a sense of relief that I hadn’t experienced a premature heart attack, I was so happy I wasn’t going to die. To celebrate I took another big gulp from my ice cold poison.

I had my second brain freeze a few minutes later.

And that my friends is the story of when I decided brain freeze is so overrated, but I’m so glad I got to have a childhood experience for the first time as a 24 year old.

Do something to make your parents proud today, your kids proud someday but most importantly, you proud everyday!

Peace and Love

Jessy x

Leave a Reply

