IN THEIR WORDS: I Actually Fucking Hate London! Written by Bryan Bernal

londonsucks

 

 

I’ve been trying to think of the times when I was happy and none of the memories that come back to have been me living in London. As a student who came from a social background that didn’t have as many opportunities as others, I find living in London more of a chore than making London part of my “fun” Sex and the City-esque lifestyle.

I see it as a chore for multiple reasons, but ultimately, it comes down to the fact that if I weren’t in London to study my chosen degree, I would find it harder to find a job and build up a career when I graduate. Because of this, the experiences I’ve had with living in London have, lead to me being tired, groggy and outright miserable.

From this, other factors add up to making me tired and miserable about living in London and, honestly, I feel they’re a tad relatable so I want to share it with you.

So many people have raved about how amazing the “culture” and “lifestyle” London has to offer, but because London itself is so tiring, you end up not getting to experience much of it. Places like the West End attract so many unassuming tourists that it almost puts you off even attempting to experience any of the culture or lifestyles. Zone 1 will soon become a tourist hell so disgusting that if you filmed central London, it will become an IRL Big Brother full of tourists.

The first few reasons why I fucking hate London is going to be cliché as fuck but can I bring up the fact that, no matter how many pay rises I get in retail, the increasing cost of rent in London is going up faster than my will to live – that doesn’t really say much about it because London’s made me not care if I die. I can’t afford it. Who in their right mind thought it’d be a good idea to live here?

For my room in a house share in zone three, I pay more than what you’d pay for a three bedroom detached house right by the beach and I find it infuriating that I’ve come to accept that it’s good value for London.

Moving on, getting from one side of London to another. Jesus Christ. Not only does it take ages, transport in London is just as over-priced as renting out here. I live in Zone 3 in South West London, and the daily cap for a Student Oyster card is around £7-8. I cry. A Zone 1-3 travel card is around £26-£27. I sob. I also live in an area where the national rail service is more convenient to travel in. It also happens to be what people that work in the city that were smart enough to not live here use, so every time I have to go to Central in rush hour, hoards of rich, middle-class white people, and the occasional people of colour from Surrey, huddle up with me in a tiny train.

I have nothing good to say about tubes but I have nothing bad to say about them so I’ll just leave that out, but buses. If you think it’s a good idea to take the bus in Zones 1-3 between the times of 7am-8pm, you’re daft. It’d be faster to walk.

Another thing that I’ve noticed, particularly about me, is that London has made me a prick, and inevitably, it will make anyone else that lives here for more than 6 months a prick too. You start to not care about the homeless man asking for change. When a disabled man or woman hops on the tube or bus, you look around to see if anyone were going to give up their seats first before you do, otherwise, you’d just waste a seat. You will just lose touch of humanity. It’s what it does to you. It’s hell. Don’t move here.

Lastly, this city will not just make you a prick; it will inherently make you pretentious as hell. When you’re in London, you always seek out what new and exciting way to eat a fucking cereal bowl because it’s all part of the experience, and you’ve become numb to the idea that you’ve just paid £6.70 for a bowl of cereal. It’s fine, you say. It has strawberries on it.

And when you’re not in London for those times you somehow managed to fork out enough money to travel away from hell, you always compare it to London. And no matter how amazing the destination is, I always find a reason to declare it inferior to London.

And that’s why I fucking hate London.

For more from Bryan, follow his blog:

https://bryandaily.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

