WHY WEDNESDAYS: Why do people block the train doors? – COMPLAINTS OF AN ANGRY PERSON

block-doors

I class myself as a pro-commuter. Honestly, I once used to use a long list of transport systems in order to get into work. I’ve met so many different types of commuters and been in so many horrible and hilarious commuting blunders that I have considered writing it into a book. I believe all of this qualifies me as an expert when it comes to commuting but the one thing that completely stumps me is why there are so many stupid people who travel through London on a regular basis.

The thing I experience on a daily basis is people who don’t move off of the train to let you out. They block the entrance and this has on more than one occasion meant that I’ve had to miss my stop and get off at the next one which depending on what train I’ve been unfortunate enough to jump on can take me at least 30 minutes away from my station. If you’ve had to suffer a long hard day talking to idiots, you just know that this 30-minute detour is completely unwelcome.

I just don’t understand why people are so rude that they can’t see that in order for people to get off of the train they need to move away from the doors. Sometimes the train can be so full that in order for people to get out, some people standing in the door section of the carriage have to step off to let them out, but it’s almost like they’re so afraid to get off that they don’t just shift. What they don’t understand is if they just stepped off of the train for a few seconds the throngs of people could get off thus allowing them to have plenty of space on the train.

I think this is one of my biggest annoyances. Do you know that terrifying feeling when you’re on a crowded train and you get to your stop, and you’re positioned in probably the furthest possible place on the train away from the door, no-one moves no matter how many times you ask for people move aside, you just know that you’re going to miss your stop.

Simple train courtesy should be taught to people before they’re allowed to board a train. It’s bad enough having to travel during peak times, but when you’re squashed in a sardine the only thing you expect to be given is the sweet release of being able to get off the train in the right place.

I feel like lots of people share this grievance with me, except people still commit the ultimate commuter betrayal by blocking the exists.

Anyway, my advice is for people to have a little more decency for their fellow commuter, make sure if you’re going to stand in front of the door, that your body is not going to stop people from exiting when they want to get off. Not only does this make people’s lives a little easier but it also means that your journey won’t be hindered because people there won’t be a person strangling you all because you stopped them from getting home on time.

Just a thought and a little angry complaint from one commuter to another.

Always remember…

Do something to make your parents proud today, your kids proud someday but most importantly, you proud every day!

Peace and Love

Jessy x

Leave a Reply

